Seeing in a glass darkly

I often see myself in a mirror or in a picture taken of my face from a camera.  My mind takes that frontal 2 dimensional picture, mixes it with my thoughts and emotions, and creates a picture of how I see myself.   At Thanksgiving dinner this week a family member was taking random shots, and from these shots I saw myself from the side.   This side picture did not match my view of how I see myself, and I did not like what I saw.

The Kingdom of God is here and now, but we only get glimpses of the Kingdom.  Just as I see an incomplete picture of myself in a mirror, I get an incomplete picture of the Kingdom.  My passions interfere with that picture.    As I walk the spiritual life, I get glimpses of myself in the Kingdom from a different profile and a different light.   I do not like what I see.

That is not the end, but the beginning.  I get glimpses of myself, mixed with my passions, my emotions, and my fears.   But, this is an incomplete picture.   God sees me without the baggage of passions, emotions, and fears.  God see me with clarity.

As we begin Advent, we look forward to both the first and second Advent.  We look forward to the time when we may see ourselves as God sees us, without the dark glass.   We will see God with clarity, and we will see ourselves with the clarity the God sees us.

 

 

 

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Advent and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.