“Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

From today’s gospel lesson, a group of Greeks went to the Apostle Phillip and say simply  “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”  (John 12:21 NRSV).   This is the cry of my heart.

To the pastors who talk about “How to be a better spouse?”, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastors who talk about managing your money better, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastors who speak anger and hate, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastors who inject their own political views and philosophies, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastors who who piece together series of illustrations with no point, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastors who believe they need to preach against those who have different sexual identity, I say “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastor who told me the suffering in my life was due to my sin, I say “Sir, I wish to see Jesus.”

To the pastor who said young earth creation was essential to my salvation, I say “Sir, I wish to see Jesus.”

To those who have told me I don’t believe in God, I say “Sir or Madaam, I wish to see Jesus.”

To those who have told me “You just need to forgive” without listening to my true thoughts or emotions, I say “Sir or Madaam, I wish to see Jesus.”

But, then, I look at mine own life, and I realize I have failed to show Jesus to others.

Triune God, help me to show Jesus.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Revised Common Lectionary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.