Am I a conservative or a liberal?

I hate conservative/liberal labels, but if someone wants to try and force them on me, I would say “I believe in the faith as established by the early church fathers, described in the Nicene Creed, and passed down to me. In a sense, that makes me a ‘conservative’ because I believe in the faith as passed down to me by those who came before. But, I also believe the early church fathers did not necessarily establish a clean set of ethics that crosses historical and cultural differences. I believe it is possible for our system of ethics to continue to adapt and ‘progress’. In that sense, I may be labeled a liberal/progressive. “

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in lutheran, Orthodox and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I a conservative or a liberal?

  1. Pastor Ken says:

    I have encountered the same problems–sometimes, people look at me and say, “Oh, he’s a Conservative.” Other times, they think, “Wait… maybe he’s a Liberal?” I like that ambiguity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

