The problem with western philosophy

I have been reading a used textbook on Philosophy which appears to be the standard undergraduate level treatment of the subject.  I have already ran across a problem with the text, it jumps from Greek philosophers to post 1500 Western European philosophers.   I am already seeing a problem in my search for the common church.   Western European philosophy tells me nothing about the Eastern branch of Christianity.  The book only teaches how Western Philosophy has impacted modern views of Western Christianity.  I am already getting glimpses of how the thoughts of philosophers such as Spinoza, Kant, and Descartes have permeated Western culture as well as permeated the Western Church.  So, it seems that to get to the common church, I have to train myself to unlearn so much of my thought patterns.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in How We Think, Philosophy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

