Acts 17: The Stoic Philosophers

This innocent looking reference in Acts 17 to the Stoic philosophers has peaked my attention.   I have never studied Greek philosophy, but it appears I have believed Stoic philosophy all my life.  I have always believed in self control as a way to overcome emotion.  The more I read about this philosophy, the more intrigued I become.   Clearly, Roman civilization and Christianity were very influenced by Stoic thought.

For me, as I search for the common church, this presents a problem.  This is my question, “Is part of the faith that has been passed down to me Christianity or is really Stoic philosophy embedded into our civilization?”

This search for the answer to this question is now the next path on my journey.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Stoic Philosophy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

