Declaring a strike on the word Grace

I love the word Grace.  My favorite song is “Amazing Grace”.  I have a shelf full of books on Grace.  I believe Christ showed unmerited favor on me. But, there is a problem.  As I scan books in the bookstore, the word Grace has been co-opted.  It is being used in titles all over the store, apparently to sell more books.  Some of Northern Alabama’s most legalistic churches have Grace in their names.   It has become a “switch and bait” routine, advertising Grace but providing the law.  The Neo-Calvinists have co-opted the name, transforming it to match their views on God’s arbitrary election.

It may be a time for me to declare a strike on the word Grace, instead talking of the mysteries of Christ’s unmerited favor.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

