I don’t fit the stereotype

I do not hunt or fish.  I despise all college and commercial sports.  I am terrible at building anything with my hands.  I clean the house, and I cook for my family.  My pastimes are gardening and blogging.  My spiritual gifts are serving and mercy.

My wife is a great plumber, electrician, and carpenter.  She can fix most anything. We have never approached a home improvement project that she wasn’t able to complete with skill and excellence.  I am the unskilled labor to her skilled labor.

We have never quite understood the long discussion on submission to husbands.  After 10 years of marriage, we have found a balance.  Our balance may not work for anyone else, but it works for us.

My family life outside of marriage is complicated and does not fit any book in any Christian bookstore.  Books like “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” make no sense to me.  I have read a library of books, and I have read the Bible from cover to cover several times. Yet, I have never found an answer to my complicated family life.

No pastor’s sermon on “How to be a better husband.” has ever made any sense to me.  My wife and I don’t match any stereotypes.

That is my stereotype story, what is yours?  e-mail me yours at allen.krell@gmail.com

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.