Mankind is good

Last year, on New Year’s Eve, I posted this entry describing the peace in my heart as I accepted God as good, even if that meant my view of a sovereign God was no more.

Now, as 2011 comes to a close, I realize this year has brought me to another conclusion, that mankind is also good.  Even now, as I say it, the thought shocks me.  Romans 3:10 immediately comes to mind as it states “There is none righteous, no, not one” (KJV).  I definitely and passionately still believe that no one is righteous, and that we can only be made righteous by Christ’s death, burial, resurrection, and future return.  I still believe that every member of mankind sins, and I am very aware of both my sins and the sins of family members and others around me. However, in spending so much of my life focusing on the depravity of mankind and the inability of mankind to achieve righteousness, I had also arrived at the place where I trusted no one, even those closest to me.  In concentrating on mankind’s evil, I came to see sin in all actions.  I have come to expect sin in all my relationships.  I have set up walls, and I have trusted no one.

I now realize the path I have taken is a scary and fearful path.  In spite of the inability of mankind to achieve righteousness on our own, mankind is still (in a sense) good.  We are created in the image of the Triune God.  As created beings we carry on the image of the one who created us.  As the Orthodox would say, we may not always act like the Triune God, but we are still created in God’s image.  If I accept that God is good, then I must accept that those created in his image are good.

Therefore, on this last day of 2011, just as I excepted God as good at the end of 2010, I accept the goodness of mankind.  I also accept that in 2012 mankind will again prove that we do not always act like God, but I must still accept that we are created in His image and in that sense are good.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

