Definition of good

As I continue searching for the definition of good, I have been reading St. Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica as well as Eastern Orthodox and early church Fathers. A common theme is to define good as perfect communion with the Father, the Son, and the Spirit. Evil would then be defined as anything that falls short of perfect communion.  The purpose of the cross then is to provide the only path to good.

This definition in its wonderful mystery gives me a different perspective.  Instead of trying to find God’s plan for my life, I accept that God’s plan for good is communion with the Triune God, a communion provided for completely by the cross and made complete at the future advent of Christ.  This communion is the only “Big Picture” that matters.  Whatever happens in this world is part of the ultimate good, but only as it relates to my future communion with the Triune God.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.