From Baptist to Roman Catholic or Eastern Orthodox?

The short answer to the question is no.  I have decided to settle on Lutheran for several reasons
1) Lutheran’s historical description of law and gospel is very compelling to me, and I believe it is the closest to the intent of the early church Fathers.
2) Lutherans still practice Eucharist and Baptism on a regular basis (in contrast to post-Protestant non-denominational churches)
3) Lutherans still ascribe to the Apostles’ and Nicene Creed (again in contrast to Baptist and other post-Protestant and non-denominational churches)
4) The particular Lutheran church I attend doesn’t get freaked out as I explore other Christian belief systems (e.g., they are Ecumenical) but they are not Universalists (they still believe both in the Trinity and that the Son is the only path to redemption)

I have concerns that the denominational level, some in the Evangelical Church in America may wish to abandon some or all of these things I hold dear, but for now it seems many local churches are holding fast to truth.

In addition, I have concerns about the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox churches that I cannot get past.  For Roman Catholic, I cannot except the supremacy of the Roman Bishop and I have problems with some of the statements in the Council of Trent that have never been changed.  For Orthodox, I am very impressed with writings of many of the Orthodox bloggers, but at this time am not ready to accept the traditions.

But, I am intrigued.  The more I learn, the more I am intrigued.  Right now, two historical beliefs of the Roman and Orthodox churches have drawn an insatiable interest :
1) The emphasis on the transformation into the image and likeness of Christ.   This concept is buried in Protestant traditions (and even some post-Protestant traditions), but the emphasis seen in both the Western and Eastern churches seems to have been lost.
2) The concept that just as I may ask friends and family members to pray for me, I may ask anyone in the body of Christ who has gone on before to pray for me.  Just as I may ask a live friend to pray for me, I may ask Mary, the early Saints, and others who have gone before to pray for me.  This concept seems to make simple and remarkable sense.  It combines the unity of the body of Christ, with a firm belief in eternal life.

As I continue down this path of spiritual discovery, I found hidden gems wherever I travel.  I look forward as I see where the path may lead me.

About Allen Krell

Http://allenkrell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.